a grand adventure

I wouldn’t ever call myself “spontaneous”.  It sounds nice, and fun even.  But at heart I am much too organized, too much of a planner to fully embrace spontaneity.  But a few weeks ago I came as close as I’ll ever get.  It dawned on us that: 1) Labor day was in a week.  2) Joe has labor day off.  And Wednesdays.  And paid time off available to take a Tuesday.  That’s a lot of time off!  3) My mom would be in town, with no particular plans other than to cuddle sweet Carter.  4) My mom’s extra hands would also be in town.  They go where she goes.  But seriously, with a busy 6 month old baby, an extra set of hands is always helpful!  5) We live 3.5 hours from the South Rim.  How could we call ourselves Arizonians and NOT see the Grand Canyon??

And so in just under a week we reserved a cabin, borrowed a hiking child carrier, dug out our sweatshirts (they don’t get used much…) and headed off for the Grand Canyon!  Like I say, its as close as we’ll get to “spontaneous”.  I kinda liked it.

The weather was phenomenal, the views were breathtaking, and the company was even better.1-521-53

We stayed in these cute KOA cabins:

1-37

They even had a front porch swing:

1-42Since we had a campfire and roasted hot dogs we’re calling it Carter’s first (of many) camping trip.  And since we went up on Monday and stayed through Wednesday, it wasn’t {too} crowded.

1-38 1-40We were able to do two hikes down into the canyon, which were well worth the sweat and sore muscles.  We dreamed of the day when we’ll hike from rim to rim.  Someday.  Not with a 6 month old, that’s for sure.  1-201-461-57 1-481-54 1-191-131-49Carter wasn’t so sure about this hiking backpack at first, but soon enough he settled in and had a great nap while we enjoyed the sights.

1-471-18 Overall we had a fabulous time and are so grateful for my mom’s help in surviving such a trip with a wee babe.  Oh, what a beautiful world we live in!

1-91-55love,

the hills

Leave a comment